Friday, July 30, 2010


Dooly County was created on May 15, 1821 by an act of the General Assembly. Dooly, Houston, Monroe, Fayette, and Henry County were created in that order by the Georgia Land Lottery Act of 1821, which was enacted at a special session of the General Assembly four months after the Creek Indians ceded lands between the Ocmulgee and Flint rivers on Jan. 8, 1821 in the first Treaty of Indian Springs.

Dooly County was organized by an act of the legislature approved Dec. 24, 1821. Later, portions of Dooly County were used to create the following counties: Worth (1853), Wilcox (1857), Crisp (1905), and Turner (1905).

Georgia's 48th county was named for Col. John Dooly (1740-1780), who commanded a regiment at the the Battle of Kettle Creek in 1779 and was killed at his home by Tories in 1780. The County Courthouse burned in 1847 destroying all records

Cities and Towns Includes the cities of Byromville, Dooling, Lilly, Pinehurst, Unadilla and Vienna. See Extended History for More information.


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home